Loading...
Guest Reviews 2018-05-03T16:40:20+00:00
fantastic location, Villa, FamilyCheryl and family , UK
These villas are in a fabulous location in Crete, not far from Rethymon, but “away from it all”. The family who live near by are always on hand if you want it for help, advice, and will cook you your first traditional Cretan meal with them, if you want. Their food is wonderful, local produce, much from their own land, and was truly fantastic! Nothing is too much trouble! very friendly too. We took up their offer of cooking more meals for us, which was very tasty and enjoyable. A Real “gem” of a find for us, and hopefully one day we will return. The villa we had (villa Fouli) was clean, spacious, traditionally decorated and well equipped. The pool was fantastic and a much needed cool down in it was great! great BBQ area, lots of space and wonderful views. Truly an ideal base for exploring this wonderful area of Crete. All in all “fantastic”!!
SUPERB
We stayed at Villa Stratos recently – Last week of July and first week of August 2012- and could not fault it.
The Villa has a superb rural, quiet, location on a hillside but within an easy drive of Rethmyno.
The Villa is of a very good size, well equiped, and has an excellent pooL, gardens and views. We could not fault the Villa.
Absolute paradise! However, the accomodation is not the end of it.
Eva and her family are the perfect hosts and could not have done more. Fresh fruit from the garden and Evas lovely cakes made the stay all the more enjoyable.
If you are going to Crete, this is the place to stay.
Exceptionnel !
Il n’est pas facile de trouver les mots justes quand on a été aussi satisfait d’une location. Des propriétaires exceptionnels de gentillesse et de disponibilité, Eva (la maman), Stratos (le papa), Fouli et Maria leurs filles, font preuve d’une énergie incroyable pour faire de votre séjour un ravissement. Nous étions dans la villa Stratos, immense, superbement équipée et très propre. Une superbe piscine sans vis à vis, entretenue tous les jours avec jets d’eau, transats et douche extérieure. Un jardin immense, entièrement clos, planté de fleurs, d’arbres fruitiers, d’oliviers… Dans la cuisine rien ne manque et même avec un bébé, tout est prévu, propre et en excellent état. L’endroit est super calme, en pleine ruralité crétoise, magnifique et accueillante, pour autant, on est à la plage ou en ville (Rethymon) en à peine 20 minutes. Eva, la maman, vous propose sa cuisine délicieuse et typhique chaque jour (non obligatoire mais recommandée) et Maria, un ange de gentillesse, pratique un anglais parfait qui rend les échanges très faciles. Nous avons rencontré quelques soucis qui auraient pu être gênants (panne de voiture de location, besoin d’un réseau Internet…) et tout à été géré par nos hôtes avec le sourire et en un éclair. Nous voyageons beaucoup, louons des villas assez souvent, et il s’agit grâce à cette famille, d’une des endroits les plus géniaux que nous ayons fréquenté.
“Fantastico, semplicemente fantastico”
Un paradiso terrestre dove apprezzare ospitalità, tranquillità e simpatia. il contorno è un coctail di pulizia e organizzazione da parte di tutta la simpaticissima famiglia Stratos. Nella magnifica Creta una bellissima occasione per passare un fantastico periodo apprezzando la cucina di Eva (Proprietaria) e raggiungendo a soli dieci minuti di macchina , un mare favoloso. Da provare e da consigliare. posso solo esprimere un giudizio più che positivo e consigliare Startos Villas.
perfect Cretan paradise
We wanted the perfect villa, away from the busy tourist trail and with Villa Stratos this is exactly what we got. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The villa was of the highest order, and beyond expectation. It was cleaned twice a week, the pool cleaned once a day, the welcome from Maria and her family very very warm, and the traditional Cretan meal they provide on the first night is a fantastic touch. This property (and Villas Maria & Fouli) all have the personal touch and the family cannot do enough for you. We consider them now friends.

The surrounding countryside is beautiful and we loved watching the swifts swoop low over the pool in the evening, and the eagles soaring high in the mountains and bathed in the gentle tinkling of the neighbouring mountain sheep bells. It was idyllic.

Anyone wanting a total relaxing holiday this is the place to come. Whether you want to have ‘lazy pool days’ or travel to the beaches and sample Cretan life.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Graeme and family

Relaxing holiday and hospitality
Our guests: Ruth, John and Mannam wrote on Villa Stratos’ Guestbook :

13-20/04/2004
“What a warm welcome we had from our most generous hostess, Eva, and her daughter Maria. This is a delightful place to unwind, and it is well situated if you want to explore inland, the north coast and further west. We made a trip to see the orchids at the “high plateau” on the road from Spili to Gerakari – a must if you come at their time of year. The wild flowers and herbs were wonderful.
All in all a most relaxing holiday in a lovely part of the world. A big “thank you” to the family of “Villa Stratos”!”

The Thones Family wrote on Villa Stratos’ Guestbook :

27/04 – 04/05/2004
“The “Villa Stratos” is more than met the description in the brochure – lots of space, extremely comfortable, and, above all, a wonderful setting. The valley setting is so quiet and peaceful. The gardens and the pool area are both excellent.
The villa has proved to be an excellent base for exploring the island. As well as trips to the Minoan sites at Knossos and Phaistos, we journeyed to the west of the island. We also enjoyed the wonderful spring flowers and the bird life of the island.
Eva’s wonderful hospitality was an unexpected bonus with good recommendations for local restaurants and many gifts during our stay. We shall certainly be recommending the “Villa Stratos” to friends and family.”

Our friends Jeroen and Marlon wrote on Villa Stratos’ Guestbook :

16/08- 25/08/2009
“Thank you Eva, Maria and Stratos for the great time we had in “Villa Stratos”. We enjoyed the house with its nice views, the swimming pool and the nice gardens. We love Kreta, with the nice villages, people and its beautiful nature. We will recommend this holiday to everyone we know and we hope we will return some time in the future.
Thank you and all the best.”

Wunderbar! Gerne wiederThorsten Hannover, Germany
Left on 10/18/2013 for a stay in July 2013
Wir waren im Juli 2013 bei Stratosvillas in der Villa Fouli mit einem Kind.
Wir haben uns derart wohl gefühlt, dass wir in der Herbstferien wiederkommen wollten, was dann leider aufgrund unserer Planung nicht geklappt hat.
Die Villa war für uns perfekt, unserer 10-jähriger Sohn wollte überhaupt nicht mehr weg, die Gastfreundlichkeit der Familie ist nicht zu toppen.
Der sehr große Pool wird regelmäßig professionell und aufwändig gewartet.
Die Zimmer sind im Top-Zustand.
Wir werden es auf jeden Fall einrichten alsbald wiederzukommen.
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Romantic, Luxury, Families
Our best Greek holidayTobias Schorndorf
Left on 10/17/2013 for a stay in August 2013
Very friendly and hospitable host family. Very good for family with children. If you look for a quiet and peaceful retreat, but still need to drop the kids sometimes at a beach nearby or in town for shopping – look no further. A beautiful place to enjoy God’s creation! Also excellent cooking and generous servings. Almost no need to go out for eating.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Travelers, Romantic, Families

A perfect quiet countryside getaway with lots of hospitalitybonzo Moscow
Left on 10/08/2013 for a stay in August 2013
We have stayed for two weeks on Villa Fouli for the second time and we’ve enjoyed every moment of it, talking, dining and singing with our hosts, going to the beach with our 2 year-old daughter, driving to the south for a bit of change. An ideal place to come and relax away of crowds with great hosts.
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Travelers, Romantic, Families
A perfect holidayJonathan Givat Nili
Left on 10/03/2013 for a stay in June 2013
Along with my family & friends I’ve stayed here already twice and will definitely come again. The most quiet, relaxing, naturally beautiful and inspiring spot for me. Just relaxing by the pool or having breakfast on the terrace – it doesn’t get much better than this. Eva, Stratos, Fouli and Maria are the best hosts and Eva’s cooking is legendary… every visit here is quite simply – A perfect holiday.
Jonathan

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Romantic, Families

Villa fantastica e ospitalità degli Stratos super!!!Cinzia Cremona - Italia
Left on 08/11/2013 for a stay in August 2013
Siamo appena tornati da Creta (io e mio marito cinquantenni) ospiti di nostri amici alloggiati in Villa Stratos una delle tre del gruppo Stratos, oltre a villa Maria e villa Fouli. Che dire ??? Le parole non bastano per descrivere la settimana passata in villa Stratos. Noi viviamo a Cremona e siamo abituati al verde e non solo al cemento delle grandi città, ma la posizione di villa Stratos, il clima (22 gradi al mattino e golfino alla sera, quando in Italia c’era una temperatura sahariana) e soprattutto la splendida accoglienza di tutta la famiglia che si prodiga a non far mancare nulla, alla massima pulizia della casa e della piscina, e non ultima la favolosa cucina di Eva, ottima cuoca cretese, ci hanno permesso di vivere 7 giorni in un paradiso. Il mare è favoloso e le spiagge poco frequentate (tranne ovviamente quelle più famose), sono però raggiungibili solo con la macchina, ma quando si è lì pare di essere in un altro mondo (anche economicamente: ombrellone + 2 lettini = 5 euro al giorno) … ora giudicate voi se non è da provare …

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Breathtaking mountainviews and hospitality without comparison!Ruth Marie Donovan Bergen
Left on 08/03/2013 for a stay in July 2013
We travel a lot and have been fortunate to visit many amazing places in the world. I am form Norway and my husband from London and we travel with our 3 children, age 10, 13 and 20. We have been to several of the Greek Islands, but must admit that we fell in love with Crete and the amazing area Rethymnon. On the practical side, Rethymnon is equally far from the 2 airports on Crete, Chania and Hiraklion. Rethymnon is also the name of the third biggest town on Crete. And Rethymnon is the only town on crete which has its own beach! And it is 10 km long! So if you want to experience the true Crete, not the tourist version, I would strongly recommend that you rent a villa. And Stratos villas has everything you need for a comfortable and luxurious holiday! These villas are immaculate clean, and the cleaning lady change towels, and bedding every third day. In addition the pool is kept clean and tidy for your comfort. On arrival you will be met by the owner, the remarkable Eva and her family. She cooks the most wonderful food which is a reason good enough to come! In the house there will be (free of charge) a bottle of local red wine, 1 bottle of local olive oil, raki, a basket of fresh fruits and fresh bread. In addition the fridge contains milk, juice, vegetables, butter and jam so you do not have to go shopping at once! Rather enjoy the amazing mountain view, listen to the silence, lay on the sun bed reading your book, play in the pool or just relax. Stratos villas is located 15 minutes drive from the town of Rethymnon. On the positive side, that gives you opportunity to explore Crete and the south. We have stayed in villa Fouli 3 summers and every time we drive south. And the south of Crete is amazing! Agia Galini, Matala, Plakias, and many more beautiful beaches and places within a short distance. And when you travel around Crete, you meet the Cretan people. They carry an amazing story and are amongst the healthiest people in the world! Listen, learn and enjoy!

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Romantic, Luxury, Families

Warmly and relaxing stayEllen Hoeselt
Left on 11/25/2012 for a stay in November 2012
The comfort/price rate for 2 persons was really good: spacious, a big terrace with panoramic view Great hospitality of Maria and Eva and… the meal of Eva was delicious.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

true crete. cant wait to visit stratos and eva againThe Belosos Tel Aviv
Left on 09/28/2012 for a stay in June 2012
We visited villa fouli three times over the last 2 years. Before going for the first time we were worried about not being right on the beach – but on the contrary, its the best thing about it. The mountains are amazing, and you don’t feel the bad side of Crete – busses full of tourists and overpriced ‘authentic’ food. The villa is perfect – comfortable, clean, quiet. And of course Eva and the family are amazing – ask Fouli to play the guitar for you.
A few recommendations if you choose Stratos – Episkopi beach is only 10 minutes away and its the best in the region for swimming and eating. go to lake kournas – its great fun for the family and its only 20 minutes from the villa.
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Travelers, Romantic, Luxury, Families
Great Villa, Great View, Great Vacation!Yairscher Tel Aviv
Left on 09/27/2012 for a stay in June 2012
We came To villa stratos last June for the 2nd time after we were there the summer before.
We will probably go for a 3rd time next summer.

The view from the balcony is breathtaking and relaxing at the same time. It is 10 mins drive from the nice non touristic beach of Episkopi. I could not ask for more from a relaxing getaway…

Ein sehr erholsamer Urlaub für drei Generationen !!!Kretaurlaub12 Glottertal
Left on 09/19/2012 for a stay in August 2012
Da wir nur zu viert in der herrlichen Villa Fouli ( Oma ,Opa Mama ,Teenie)waren, wurde das Studio abgeschlosen und wir hatten das ganze Objekt ,mit großem Pool und Grill für uns allein. Das schöne Haus ist großzügig und rustikal eingerichtet. Es gibt Terrassen im Schatten oder in der Sonne. Einen Abend wird man von den Gastgebern zu einem griechischen Menü eingeladen .Man kann auch bei der Gastmutter , Eva , Abendessen bestellen. Sie kocht reichlich und gut. ( Eine Flasche Wein ist immer dabei.) Die Tochter , Maria, spricht einige Sprachen und kümmert sich um die Gäste. Die Villas liegen abseits ,sehr ruhig, ca. 15 min von der sehr schönen Hafenstadt Rethymno und 20 min vom langen, breiten, ruhigen Strand Richtung Chania entfernt. Die Umgebung ist grün, mit viel Bäumen, Büschen und Pflanzen. Da man sich in der Mitte der Insel befindet , kann man sehr viele sehenswerte Orte gut erreichen . Wir hatten einen sehr schönen und erholsamen Urlaub !!!
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Friends, Groups
Traumhafte Villa in ruhiger alleinlage und 1a GastfreundlichkeitRenate K Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Left on 09/12/2012 for a stay in August 2012
Die Villa Fouli ist in einem äußerst gepflegten Zustand. An der Ausstattung stehen keine Wünsche offen. 2x wöchentlich wird gründlich gereinigt und die Wäsche gewechselt. Der Pool wurde jeden Abend gewartet. Das Häuschen befindet sich abseits vom Touristentrubel. Für uns ideal! Schöne Aussicht.
Maria spricht gut deutsch und ist jeder Zeit ansprechbar über Auskünfte zum Einkauf, Ausflugszielen u.s.w..
Die Gastfreundlichkeit der gesamten Familie ist einfach toll und unübertreffbar. Eva zaubert sehr gut schmeckende griechische Mahlzeiten. Wenn man möchte kann man auch öfters ihre köstliche Küche erleben. (Ein Menü ist kostenlos!)
Die Entfernung zum großen Einkauf bei Lidl in Atsipopoulo ist ca. 12km und zum einsamen Strand etwas weiter. Doch das wußten wir vorher und die ruhige Lage macht die etwas weite Entfernung wieder weg.
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Friends, Groups
Exceptionnel !VoyageursAvertis60 Chaumont, France
Left on 09/10/2012 for a stay in July 2012
Il n’est pas facile de trouver les mots justes quand on a été aussi satisfait d’une location. Des propriétaires exceptionnels de gentillesse et de disponibilité, Eva (la maman), Stratos (le papa), Fouli et Maria leurs filles, font preuve d’une énergie incroyable pour faire de votre séjour un ravissement. Nous étions dans la villa Stratos, immense, superbement équipée et très propre. Une superbe piscine sans vis à vis, entretenue tous les jours avec jets d’eau, transats et douche extérieure. Un jardin immense, entièrement clos, planté de fleurs, d’arbres fruitiers, d’oliviers… Dans la cuisine rien ne manque et même avec un bébé, tout est prévu, propre et en excellent état. L’endroit est super calme, en pleine ruralité crétoise, magnifique et accueillante, pour autant, on est à la plage ou en ville (Rethymon) en à peine 20 minutes. Eva, la maman, vous propose sa cuisine délicieuse et typhique chaque jour (non obligatoire mais recommandée) et Maria, un ange de gentillesse, pratique un anglais parfait qui rend les échanges très faciles. Nous avons rencontré quelques soucis qui auraient pu être gênants (panne de voiture de location, besoin d’un réseau Internet…) et tout à été géré par nos hôtes avec le sourire et en un éclair. Nous voyageons beaucoup, louons des villas assez souvent, et il s’agit grâce à cette famille, d’une des endroits les plus géniaux que nous ayons fréquenté.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Friends, Groups, Families w children

Our best vacation everAviva Pardes Hanna
Left on 09/05/2012 for a stay in August 2012
We enjoyed our vacation at “Villa Maria” so much. Everything was just perfect: the location, the weather, the pastoral mountains view (from the windows and spacious porch…).
The house is clean and shipshape, well equipped and well furnished and very spacious. All the sites are nearby – the lake, the beaches, the picturesque villages and towns. On the other hand it’s very convenient – the grocery store, the supermarket, the bank and the gas-station are all quite close.
The hosting family is so generous and hospitable: Eva, Maria, Stratos and Fouli gave us such a good feeling, and Eva’s cooking is really delicious. We felt as if we were visiting our own family (-:
We’ve been staying there for 5 days – couple with 3 teens, and we agreed (unanimously): this was our best vacation ever.
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Travelers, Families
holidays of one's dream in villa Mariairene vannes
Left on 05/11/2012 for a stay in April 2012
We ‘ll never forget these holidays , because the warm reception of Eva’s family ! We had a lot of contacts, discussions, often in the Eva’s kitchen!!
her cooking lessons were very good and funny! Very many thanks because it was what we looked for : to meet authentic people for sifting out the Crete. The home was like described and outstandingly comfortable! We liked the country life, especially in spring, and near Reyhymnon .
Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Travelers, Romantic, Luxury, Families
Holidays in March on the Stratos villasElena Moscow
Holidays in March on the Stratos villas
Left on 05/02/2012 for a stay in March 2012
This villa is perfect. The villa quiet, calm and comfortable. Perfectly chosen interior in the style of the castle. We had a feeling of home. Fully equipped kitchen, a loft with great views of the mountains. The hosts of this villa is very good, friendly, responsive and lovely. They gave us many gifts and prepared a delicious dinner. This place is very quiet for recreation with children. From the sea drive a car 15 minutes. Also from the city of Rethymno drive a car 15 minutes. In the city we can buy everything we need.
The villa has central heating, so the cold was not even in March. We really liked the holiday at the villa. Be sure to come again. I highly recommend!

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Travelers, Romantic, Luxury, Families, Rugged